La Liga

La Liga Logo

Global Football Divisions

Almost every country across the world has their own football league. Italian football exists, although football in England is much more popular. Many countries contain their own tier system. Spain is no different. There are two main football leagues in Spain. Teams can be relegated into the league below but cannot be promoted into any leagues above, as this is the top flight.

Spanish La Liga History 

La Liga, officially known as the Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División, is the top professional football league in Spain. It was created on February 23, 1929, making it one of the oldest leagues in the world. The league is contested by 20 teams and operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Segunda División.

The first season of La Liga took place in 1929, and the inaugural champion was Barcelona. Since then, La Liga has become highly competitive, featuring fierce rivalries between clubs like Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Atletico Madrid. Barcelona are also the most recent winners of the Spanish La Liga after retrieving the title and ending the dominance of the two Madrid clubs, Real and Atletico. With 34 titles to their name, Barcelona have also won the most La Liga seasons. They have been a dominant force in Spanish football, thanks to the contributions of legendary players like Lionel Messi. Lionel Messi also holds the record for scoring the most all-time goals in La Liga history. His incredible scoring prowess has seen him net over 400 goals during his career with Barcelona.

As for the player with the most all-time appearances, that distinction belongs to Andoni Zubizarreta. The former goalkeeper made 622 appearances in La Liga, showcasing his longevity and consistency.

The player with the most all-time clean sheets in La Liga is currently Andoni Zubizarreta as well. He kept a remarkable 251 clean sheets during his career, displaying his exceptional goalkeeping abilities.

Real Madrid also hold the most titles with 34 to their name, while also currently holding the most Champions Leagues as well. Real Madrid has been home to countless legends in football such as ballon d’or winners Karim Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and many more footballing greats.

When does La Liga start?

To answer simply, the 2023/24 La Liga season will start on the 11th of August, and should finish on the 26th of May 2024. The season runs annually, and has a few international breaks for things such as the UEFA Champions League.

Who will win the La Liga 2023-24 season?

Barcelona will once again be strong contenders for the league title, with previous top goal scorer Lewandowski leading the line once again this season. They have a very talented squad. They are still ordered by Xavi, who has proven to be a very talented manager.

Real Madrid will be looking to take back the title however, with young players like Vinicius Jr, Rodrygo, Tchouameni, Camavinga and recent signing Jude Bellingham, they have more than enough firepower to win the league this season. 

Then there are outside shouts such as Atletico Madrid, Sevilla and Villareal. Although unlikely these clubs will all be looking to challenge next season. With that being said, we predict Real Madrid will win the league next season.