Italian Football Leagues and Competitions 

The Italian Football League consists of 3 professional leagues with the 3rd being split into two groups. The top 2 leagues are known as the Serie A and the Serie B. There are multi semi-professional and non-professional leagues below that as well, all with the goal of getting their club to the top of the Italian pyramid. 

The Serie A has consistently been in the top 5 leagues not just in Europe but also the world. Featuring teams of incredibly high quality such as AC Milan, Inter Milan, Juventus, Napoli and Roma. 

The Serie A has been a highly competitive league with fierce derbies, heated rivalries and thrilling matches. This league has something for everyone and with a high quality of football what’s not to love. 

Italian National Team

The Italian national team is one of the most successful national teams in the world only behind Brazil and Germany in trophies. Italy has had a distinct style of play for many years now and has thrived with a wide range of high quality players. 

Renowned for their defensive style of play where they emphasise a cautious approach to their games, and use technical players to progress the ball forward. Italy also developed the style of play known as Catenaccio which is a defensive system formed around man-marking and sweeping. 

Italy is one of the most successful national football teams in history, having won 4 world cups, 2 European Championships and being the first ever team to defend their world cup title. Italy has developed many rivalries with neighbouring European clubs as well as Brazil. This match is known as the World Derby due to them being the two top performing teams throughout the years.

Italy have had many legends throughout the years including Gianluigi Buffon, Francesco Totti, Fabio Cannavaro, Andrea Pirlo and Gennaro Gattuso. These players were all instrumental in their 2006 World Cup win and were named in the team of the tournament. They have had other national legends throughout the years before that.

Today Italy are in an unusual place as they have failed to qualify for the previous 2 World Cups which has been seen as a massive failure for the team. However they are also the current reigning European Championship winners winning the competition in 2020.  In this time they also went on a record breaking streak of 37 matches without defeat. Their team features current players such as Donnarumma, Di Lorenzo, Spinazzola, captain Leonardo Bonnuci, Marco Veratti, Nicolo Barella, Jorginho, Ciro Immobile and other young talents. They have an impressive squad that has shown they have what it takes to win competitions; they have just struggled to qualify for competitions in recent times. 

Italian Serie A

The Serie A is 125 years old, being founded in 1898 but introduced as a round-robin in 1929. The Serie A features 20 teams with 3 teams being eligible for relegation and 4 Champions League spots being up for grabs. Teams that are relegated into the Serie B are replaced by the best teams from Serie B. 

The Serie A is one of the most competitive leagues in the world, with multiple Champions League winning teams and lots of competition at the top end of the table. Some of the top teams in the Serie A include Juventus, Inter Milan, AC Milan, Roma, Lazio and Napoli. Juventus are the team who have won the most Serie A titles, with 36 to their name. Juventus have been one of the best Italian sides alongside the two Milan clubs however in recent times they have dominated the league winning 9 titles in a row from 2011-2020. Inter Milan and AC Milan have both won 19 league titles each and have been some of the most dominant teams not just in Italy but in Europe as well with 10 Champions Leagues between them. There are some fierce rivalries in Italy including the Milan Derby and the Rome derby between Roma and Lazio. 

The Serie A has been home to some of the most famous footballers in recent time with players such as Inzhagi, Baggio, Maldini, Pirlo, and many more. They have even had players such as Cristinao Ronaldo and Diego Maradonna who is a Napoli legend to this day.

Italian Serie B 

The Italian Serie B was founded in 1929 and is the 2nd highest competition in Italy. The league has had multiple iterations and changes throughout the years but as of the 2023-24 season the division contains 20 teams with 3 teams being eligible for promotion and 4 being eligible for relegation. Atalanta are the team who have won promotion the most with12 however it’s Genoa who have the most Serie B titles with 6. 


The Supercoppa is an annual competition that features the runners-up and winners of the Serie A and Coppa Italia. All 4 teams are placed into a knockout style competition. Juventus have won the most Super Coppas with 9. Just like the Serie A the Milan sides are tied second, both clubs have 7 trophies. Paulo Dybala is the all time top goalscorer in this competition with 4 goals. 

Coppa Italia

The Coppa Italia is Italy’s domestic national competition. It is a knockout tournament that features teams from the Serie C and above. There are preliminary rounds and every round, new teams from the division above are introduced. Juvenetus are once again the dominant team as they have won this cup 14 times. Unlike the Serie A and Supercoppa the two Milan sides are sepereble in this competition. Inter Milan have won the competition 9 times and so have Roma, AC Milan have won this competition 5 times.